A small country with a rich history, Croatia awes visitors with its wide variety of culture, cuisine, and natural and architectural wonders. The sophisticated traveler searching for a novel and interesting destination will be delighted to discover the beauty and the mysterious magic of the newest member of the European community. Croatia is both a Central European and Mediterranean country, bordering Slovenia in the west, Hungary in the north, Serbia in the east, and Bosnia and Herzegovina in the south. Part of the country lies on the coast while the other rests in continental Europe, creating a dichotomous path of discovery that engages all the senses.

Croatia is now the 28th country admitted into the EU and boasts 7 UNESCO World Heritage Sites:

  • Historical Complex of Split with the Palace of Diocletian (1979)
  • Old City of Dubrovnik (1979)
  • Natural Plitvice Lakes National Park (1979)
  • Episcopal Complex of the Euphrasian Basilica in the Historic Centre of Pore? (1997)
  • Historic City of Trogir (1997)
  • The Cathedral of St James in Šibenik (2000)
  • Stari Grad Plain (2008)

Travelers to Croatia can explore its 1,185 islands (only 48 of which are permanently inhabited), taste the freshness of locally grown organic produce, tour privately owned wineries, marvel at the breathtaking colors of its famous lakes, and succumb to the seductions of the region’s converging cultures. Croatia unfolds a unique mix of Italic, Germanic, and Slavic influences, indulging visitors to discover a rare gem in the world of travel.




Capital: Zagreb
Official Language: Croatian, written in the Latin script
Population: 4,284,889 (2011 census), over 90% Croat
Currency: Kuna (HRK)
Calling Code: +385
Government: Independent Parliamentary Democracy
Primary Religion: Roman Catholicism
Climate: Mediterranean and Continental climates
Land Area: 56,594 sq km
Bordering Countries: Slovenia, Hungary, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Montenegro